About Us


Reach out to us at info@annsnitowprize.com

Organizing Committee

Katheryn Detwiler is a PhD candidate in anthropology at The New School for Social Research. Her research explores the politics of technoscience, computation, and AI innovation in Chile. She worked with Ann Snitow from 2009 until her death in 2019, collaborating on book projects, building Gender Studies at The New School, and sustaining the Network of East-West Women.

Judith Levine is a nonfiction writer and feminist activist much of whose work resides at the intersections between the body and the body politic. Judith’s fifth book is The Feminist & the Sex Offender: Confronting Sexual Harm, Ending State Violence (2020) co-authored with Erica R. Meiners. 

Natasha Lewis is co-editor of Dissent

Laura Y. Liu is Associate Professor of Global Studies & Geography at The New School. Her research focuses on community and labor organizing; migration and urban development; and the interplay of politics with art and design.

Miriam Ticktin is Associate Professor of Anthropology at the New School for Social Research. She served as Director of Gender Studies at the New School, the program that Ann Snitow created, from 2012 to 2013. She has written on immigration, humanitarianism, border walls, and gender and race in France and the US, including a book entitled Casualties of Care: Immigration and the Politics of Humanitarianism in France. She is currently at work on a book on—and against—innocence.

Dayna Tortorici is a writer and co-editor-in-chief of n+1, a journal of literature, culture, and politics based in New York. 

Atina Grossman
Temma Kaplan
Katha Pollitt
Leonore Tiefer

Nominating Committee

Jennifer Baumgardner is publisher of Dottir Press and co-founder of the speakers bureau Soapbox, Inc. and Feminist Camp. She is the author of Manifesta and Grassroots (with Amy Richards); Look Both Ways: Bisexual Politics; and Abortion & Life. Baumgardner produced and directed the documentaries I Had an Abortion, It Was Rape, and, as a journalist, has contributed to the New York Times, Glamour, the Nation, Dissent, Ms., Harper’s Bazaar, and Teen Vogue. She was previously executive director of the Feminist Press and writer in residence at the New School.

Mallika Dutt wakes leaders up to interconnected truth and inspires us to question our current paradigms. She provides us with approaches and tools to strategically shake up and re-envision the world. Mallika has honed this approach through decades of experience leading culture change in entrepreneurial, nonprofit, and philanthropic fields. Her unique methodology combines ancient wisdom, contemplative practices, and social justice activism. The result? Connection and transformation.

Barbara Ehrenreich, a self-identified “myth buster by trade,” is an essayist, journalist, and author of 21 books, including Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America and Natural Causes. The daughter and granddaughter of miners, she is a longtime activist in feminist, peace, health care, and economic justice movements, and a co-founder of the Democratic Socialists of America and the Economic Hardship Reporting Project.

Susan Faludi is a Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist and the author of the bestselling Backlash: The Undeclared War Against American Women. Her most recent book, In the Darkroom, won the 2016 Kirkus Prize for Non-Fiction. She has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, and the Knight Foundation. Her work has appeared in many publications, including the New Yorker, Harper’s, the Wall Street Journal, and the New York Times. She teaches nonfiction creative writing at Harvard University and Smith College.

Avery F. Gordon is Professor Emerita of Sociology at the University of California, Santa Barbara and Visiting Professor at Birkbeck School of Law University of London. Her most recent books are The Hawthorne Archive: Letters from the Utopian Margins, The Workhouse: The Breitenau Room, and Ghostly Matters: Haunting and the Sociological Imagination. Her work focuses on radical thought. She serves on the Editorial Committee of the journal Race & Class and is the co-host of No Alibis, a weekly public affairs radio program on KCSB FM Santa Barbara.

Laura Y. Liu (co-chair)

Iris Morales is a longtime activist, educator and feminist involved in struggles for racial justice, women’s rights, and the decolonization of Puerto Rico. Her ongoing collaborations center on these concerns. She is the author of Through the Eyes of Rebel Women: The Young Lords 1969-1976 and editor of several anthologies, including Latinas: Struggles and Protests in 21st Century USA and Voices from Puerto Rico: Post-Hurrican Maria, a bilingual project with island activists and artists.

Barbara Ransby is Distinguished Professor in the Departments of African American Studies, Gender and Women’s Studies, and History at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC), where she directs the campus-wide Social Justice Initiative, a project that promotes connections between academics and community organizers doing work on social justice. She is the author of many books, most recently Making All Black Lives Matter: Re-imagining Freedom in the 21st Century (2018).

Loretta J. Ross is a Visiting Professor in Women and Gender Studies at Smith College, and co-founder of the SisterSong Women of Color Reproductive Justice Collective. In 1994, she co-created the theory of reproductive justice. She has addressed women’s issues, hate groups, and human rights on CNN, the New York Times, Time Magazine, the Los Angeles Times, and USA Today.

Susan Stryker is Presidential Fellow and Visiting Professor of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Yale University, 2019-2020. She is founding co-editor of the journal TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly, author of Transgender History: The Roots of Today’s Revolution, and co-director of the Emmy-winning documentary film Screaming Queens: The Riot at Compton’s Cafeteria.

Miriam Ticktin (co-chair)

Patricia J. Williams is a prominent critical race theorist and former practicing attorney who writes widely in scholarly and popular publications on race, gender, and the law and appears frequently in broadcast media and film. A columnist for The Nation, Williams is also the author of many books, including the feminist classic The Alchemy of Race and Rights and, most recently, Giving a Damn: Racism, Romance and ‘Gone with the Wind.’ She is University Professor of Law and Philosophy, and Director of Law, Technology and Ethics Initiatives at Northeastern University and a professor emerita of the Columbia University School of Law.